WHO AM I?

I love how that sounds

My introduction to the German language was rather coincidental, but it was a nice coincidence. My father was an artist who also taught painting classes. One of the students in his night class was Otto Christ, an older gentleman from Austria. My parents, my brother and I occasionally visited Otto and his wife Helen, and they sometimes spoke German with us. I loved how it sounded back then, and it continues to hold its grip on me today.

A bit of German childhood in America

So I chose German as my foreign language at school, and I had four years with a fantastic teacher. Mrs. Baymor didn’t just teach us the language, she introduced us to Germany and the German people, the German culture, the German way of thinking, German literature. We learned about customs and tradition and contemporary culture, and even enjoyed some German treats. We sang German Christmas songs and ate German Christmas cookies, ate Bratwurst and sang at German Day festivities, and listened to German music.

This made a lasting impression on me, and shaped my future. I knew I wanted to study German, which I did in Pennsylvania and in Marburg, Germany.

Germany, here I come

After finishing my studies and a few short stops in Marburg and Kassel, Mainz was my final destination. I worked at different companies in different industries before deciding to become a freelancer in 2000. The years passed and I gained more and more experience, basically soaking up Germany and everything around me.

The time came …

When I started thinking, feeling and dreaming in German, I knew I had finally arrived. This gave me the courage and the confidence to create something new, to go further, to do more than ‘just’ translate. In my work I increasingly felt that I am more than a translator, I am a transcreator. To simply paraphrase transcreation:

Building bridges

That’s exactly what it is. I connect people, countries and cultures. Not because I translate, but because I translate with creativity and intercultural thinking. Adapting the meaning and sensitively communicating the essence of your German content and messages, thoughts and feelings in English.

The fact that I am able to offer these services thanks to my years of continued education and experience fills me with pride and happiness. I love my work, and I want to share that with you.

I am still American and culturally we do love our thank-yous, so at this point I would like to thank my parents, Mrs. Baymor, and of course Otto and Helen Christ!

Contact me

ROBIN LIMMEROTH
Translator and Transcreator
An der Sandflora 5
55122 Mainz-Gonsenheim
Phone 06131-688023
Fax 06131-688024
Cell 0179-2038541

WHAT CAN I DO FOR YOU?

Name

Company

Email

Phone

Message

Spam prevention

multiply 3 with 2

ÜBER MICH

Das hört sich ja sooo nice an

Es war eher zufällig, dass ich zur deutschen Sprache kam. Aber ein schöner Zufall. Mein Vater war Maler und unterrichtete auch. Einer seiner Schüler war ein schon etwas älterer Herr aus Österreich namens Otto Christ. Meine Eltern und ich waren öfter bei ihm zu Hause zu Besuch. Seine Frau und er sprachen manchmal auch deutsch mit uns. Ich fand damals schon, dass es so schön klingt. Und die Sprache hat mich bis heute nicht mehr losgelassen.

Ein bisschen deutsch Kindheit in Amerika

In der Schule entschied ich mich deshalb für Deutsch als Fremdsprache. Es waren vier Jahre mit einer fantastischen Lehrerin. Sie unterrichtete nicht einfach nur die Sprache. Sie hat uns auch Deutschland und die Deutschen nahegebracht. Die deutsche Kultur, das deutsche Denken, die deutsche Literatur. Aber auch Brauchtum und Traditionen auf der einen Seite, Gegenwartskultur und die Genüsse auf der anderen. Und so sangen wir deutsche Weihnachtslieder und aßen deutsche Plätzchen, wenn wir nicht gerade zu Nena und der Neuen Deutschen Welle getanzt und Bratwurst gegrillt haben.

Das alles hat mich Nachhaltig beeindruckt und geprägt. Und so war es mir nicht Wurst, was ich machen wollte: ein Germanistik-Studium sollte es sein. Sowohl in Pennsylvania (USA) als auch in Marburg (Deutschland).

Deutschland, ich komme

Nach dem Studium ging es für mich nach Mainz und ich arbeitete in unterschiedlichen Unternehmen und Bereichen, bevor ich mich im Jahre 2000 als Übersetzerin selbstständig machte. So gingen die Jahre ins Land, ich sammelte weiter Erfahrungen und sog Deutschland sprichwörtlich in mich auf.

Jetzt war es soweit

Als ich anfing in Deutsch zu denken, zu fühlen und auch zu träumen, wusste ich, ich bin endgültig angekommen. Das hat mir Mut und Sicherheit gegeben, Neues zu gestalten, weiter zu gehen, einfach mehr zu tun, als nur zu übersetzen. Auch habe ich in meiner Arbeit immer stärker gespürt, dass ich schon mehr bin als „nur“ Übersetzerin, nämlich Transkreatorin. Und für Transkreation gibt es eine simple Umschreibung:

Brücken schlagen

Genau das ist es. Ich verbinde Menschen, Länder und Kulturen. Nicht, weil ich übersetze, sondern weil ich Übersetzen mit Kreativität und interkulturellem Denken verbinde. Durch das sinngemäße Adaptieren und sensible Transferieren von Inhalten und Botschaften, Gedanken und Gefühlen.

Dass ich alles jetzt dank langer Fortentwicklung und Erfahrung mit gutem Gefühl zur Entfaltung bringen kann, erfüllt mich mit Stolz und mit Glück. Und das möchte ich mit Ihnen teilen.

Ach ja. Jetzt bin ich doch mal ganz Amerikanerin. Und Sie kennen das aus vielen gängigen Dankesreden: ...ganz besonders dank ich dafür meinen Eltern- und Herrn Otto Christ!

Kontakt

ROBIN LIMMEROTH
Translator and Transcreator
An der Sandflora 5
55122 Mainz-Gonsenheim
Tel. 06131-688023
Fax 06131-688024
Mobil 0179-2038541

WAS KANN ICH FÜR SIE TUN?

Name

Unternehmen

E-Mail

Telefon

Nachricht

Spam-Schutz

Berechnen Sie 3 x 2